Vampires and other minorities

I hate to jump on the paranormal bandwagon but yes, there are vampires and werewolves in this world.  The folklore of the realms is as full of the supernatural as the country I really live in.  But like my real country, some parts are more prone to strange occurrences than others.  Consequently, in Hugo’s ‘book noir’ he gets to take full advantage of the weird and wonderful as he travels around.

It seems that only ghosts, vampires and werewolves are well-known in the realms.  The rules on inheritance stipulate that vampires and werewolves cannot inherit a castle, nor can anyone married to one.  I’m not sure why, but obviously some bias against minorities has crept in here.  However, castles appear to pride themselves on having a ghost, to the extent that Baden suspects Lupin has made up the Buckmore ghost just to be in fashion.

I was going to say some more stuff about vampires but other than all the usual things about them you know already, I think it might be a spoiler for Hugo’s story, The Traveler in Black and White,  and  later ones if I do.  I think I need to keep my options open on this.

Sorry!  You’ll just have to W for Wait!

7 thoughts on “Vampires and other minorities

  1. Whee just wanted to let you know how much whee love reading your posts and have wheeked at our Mummy so she will make a cool story for us!

    Lots of love and piggy lips
    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

  2. You mean, Norfolk’s folklore is full of the supernatural? Or Norfolk itself?

    I don’t remember seeing anything supernatural…. No, I take that back. There was that humongous wasp in the guest room. Ok, maybe it was just a regular wasp, but in my imagination it was almost the size of Fred. And wasps in November? That itself is weeeeeeird.

    • No, I don’t hear much about ghosts and supernatural events in Norfolk. It is entirely different over in Dorset-Wiltshire where ghost stories abound. It’s possibly due to the intersection of the ley lines around there and the sites like Glastonbury Tor and Stonehenge. I think Deeping-White Horse area may have more in the way of paranormal activity than Marsh.
      I tend to associate other supernatural stuff with mountains, which is why Sowerby is my haunted castle of choice… its a bit Transylvanian… then again think of the moors at the start of An American Werewolf in London 🙂

Comments are closed.