Would you like a Challenge?

I’m managing to combine two challenges for 2013 by setting myself a target for the number of books read AND taking the Pre-1960 Classic Children’s book challenge.  You have to read (and hopefully review, but that’s not essential) one book a month, and that will count towards my Goodreads tally as well.

There are hundreds of wonderful classic books out there, and so far I have listed Professor Branestawm,  A Wrinkle in Time, Island of Blue Dolphins and the Diary of Anne Frank.  I’ve also picked out to re-read (or read for the first time) some Victorian/Edwardian books like David Copperfield, The Jungle Book and the Adventures of Tom Sawyer.  I remember reading a classic children’s series in Australia when I was there one year, but I can’t remember the title!  Maybe it’ll come back to me.

You can see my progress in the Goodreads box at the right side of the page (scroll down).  Most of these book reviews will appear in future Kid Lit Blog Hops, so I’m killing two birds with one stone, as they say!

If you’ve come here from the KidLit Blog Hop why not sign up for this challenge yourself?  Click the picture to get to the Challenge page.  Good luck!

Have you got a favourite children’s book that dates from the 1950s or earlier?  Please let me know below.  I thought I’d read Fantastic Mr Fox, but it is actually a 1970 publication – which is probably why I haven’t read it all before.

8 thoughts on “Would you like a Challenge?

  1. “A Girl of the Limberlost,” published in 1909, is dear to my family because it was read by my grandmother, my mother and myself. I haven’t been able to talk my children or grandchildren into reading it, but I am still trying.

    • Well, I got Girl from the Limberlost in a free kindle edition. It’s #2 in the series though. It might be Freckles that comes first, and I don;t remember that at all. Review in a few months 🙂

    • I only found it referenced in a librarian reference book when I did a search. I’ve not heard of it before – it sounds interesting though.

      • Think “Sorcerer’s Apprentice” Jemima. It’s been so long since I’ve read it, I only remember a kid who works for a mixer of colors, running a muck and changes the colors for everything he sees. What I truly remember were the wonderful illustrations that were resplendent in color. I remember a book laid out in landscape with a black book cover and full of color on its front.

  2. Omigosh! I wish I could have done this last year. About 10 years ago, our local newspaper had this program where once per week they had a coupon where you could buy a children’s classic book for $5. There were just over 30. Anyways, I just opened up the box last year and blasted through about 15 of them! Some of the ones I read were Bednobs and Broomsticks, Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, The Jungle Book, Swiss Family Robinson, Anne of Green Gables, Grimm Fairy Tales, & Gulliver’s Travels are the ones I can think of off the top of my head. Good luck! I’m nervous about signing up for any challenges but I’ll think about it. It would be fun to do with my daughter, but she’s already operating at max capacity for reading. Thanks for linking into the Kid Lit Blog Hop. 🙂

    • Wow – what an opportunity. It’s interesting picking up books you havent read for years, isn’t it. I think I ought to add The Hobbit to my list, since I didn’t like it when I first read it – I was too old. Now I’m older I may enjoy it more!

Comments are closed.