Off to Camp NaNoWriMo

Once upon a time I went to Summer Camp in the USA.  Wisconsin, to be precise.  It was hugely enjoyable, although there were also some odd incidents as a result of people making false assumptions.  Hmm, I must put that in a book some time!

2013-Participant-Campfire-Square-ButtonFor the second year running I’m at Camp NaNoWriMo, which is a writing camp that lasts a month (National Novel Writing Month, you see).  I have a target to write a 50,000 word book in that time.  That’s about 1615 words a day, every day.  I have cabin mates to chat to.  There are camp songs to sing around the fire if you feel that way inclined.  There are mugs and t-shirts to buy.

So I’m sitting here in my Camp NaNoWriMo t-shirt, writing my next book, in my ‘office’ at my desk, and doing the camp online.  The new book is Victor’s story, which I got stuck on a long time ago, but have brought out, dusted off some old ideas, inserted a whole load of new ideas, and am replotting as we speak.  Victor BartonOr read, as the case may be.  Last year I wrote the Talent Seekers, so I hope this is going to produce at least as good a result for Victor, who has been waiting patiently all this time for me to finish.  He’s a good chap. Cute, clever, and just getting a little bit old in real life.  You’ll never get old in my books sweetheart – just a little bit more grown up!

I’ll send you regular postcards on my progress during July, but don’t expect much in the way of book reviews or flash fiction.  I have my writer’s hat firmly on my head, and I’m coming up only for fresh air, exercise, and some meals!

7 thoughts on “Off to Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Good luck at Camp Nano! I have chickened out again in attending, but it sounds like loads of fun, work, stress, heartache, and accomplishment. I look forward to your postcards 🙂

    Paul R. Hewlett

    • Postcards may arrive Friday on here, Monday over on the Princelings site. Depends on what my postman thinks about transferring them onto my computer!

  2. I’m off to camp too, BUT, is the site down? Every time I try to check in or post updated info, I get an error and can’t get through. PLEASE let me know if you are having trouble. Wish we were going to be in the same cabin, but I have yet to post my cabin mate request etc. because of this problem of getting on. Can you help a fellow camper? 🙂

    • I’ve been getting Error 503 messages, I think the site is crowded, but I’ve reloaded a couple of times and usually got through on second or third attempt. It’ll probably ease off as the rush subsides 😉

  3. I, on the other hand, am going real camping, and don’t expect to get much if any writing done. Have a great time and I look toward to seeing the result!

Comments are closed.